Nazarbayev University: Co-founder of Asian universities Alliance

Asian Universities Alliance (AUA) was inaugurated at Tsinghua University on April 29, 2017 in Beijing, China. Vice Premier of the People’s Republic of China presided in the launching ceremony with participants from government agencies, embassies, Chinese universities and heads of 15 founding institutions. The AUA mission is to jointly address regional and global challenges, specifically related to higher education and economic, scientific and technological development, by strengthening collaboration among member institutions.

What are the benefits of AUA for NU?

AUA can assist NU in building a collaborative network among the 15 founding institutions in order to join efforts in the areas of research, faculty and student exchanges, joint summer programs and joint conferences/workshops.
NU recognizes that successful research today has to be a collaborative endeavor to be pursued with international partners. NU considers internationalization of student body a high priority task; in this ­­­­regard student exchanges and joint summer programs with AUA partners will help to facilitate internationalization efforts of NU.
In return, NU will assist AUA in promoting AUA’s mission and values by reaching out to higher education institutions and increase awareness of AUA activities and facilities new links among top universities in Central Asia.
The joint statement from the founding universities of AUA indicated that AUA will promote mobility of students, scholars and staff among all members; strengthen research collaboration and joint innovation; establish high-level dialogues and forums to discuss higher education strategies and policies; and compile and publish annual reports on Asia higher education.
AUA founding member institutions are (in alphabetical order):
1. Chulalongkorn University (Thailand);
2. Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Hong Kong SAR);
3. Institute of Technology Bombay (India);
4. King Saud University (Saudi Arabia);
5. National University of Singapore (Singapore);
6. Nazarbayev University (Kazakhstan);
7. Peking University (China);
8. Seoul National University (Republic of Korea);
9. Tsinghua University (China);
10. United Arab Emirates University (United Arab Emirates);
11. Universitas Indonesia (Indonesia);
12. University of Colombo (Sri Lanka);
13. University of Malaya (Malaysia);
14. University of Tokyo (Japan);
15. University of Yangon (Myanmar).

For the first two years no new members will be admitted in order to allow the new Alliance to operate properly.
All member institutions believe that higher education will play an increasingly important role in future Asian societies and that economic globalization has inevitably led to openness becoming a big trend of higher education. AUA will embrace that trend by building closer ties both among member universities and with universities outside AUA.

AUA Youth Innovation Workshop

Three students of Nazarbayev University were honored to attend the launching ceremony of AUA and the first ever AUA activity – Youth Innovation Workshop which was held in Tsinghua University (April 25-29, 2017). During the 4-day workshop students had sessions on critical thinking an design, as well as field research trips that helped them to come up with creative solutions that could be helpful to address global challenges. 51 students from 14 top Asian universities were divided into 5 groups, each corresponding to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. On the last day students presented the results of their work to the participants from founding institutions.
The workshop was also a good platform for cultural exchange. Students could learn Chinese calligraphy and traditional paper cutting during the Cultural Exploration sessions. Meeting and working with the participants from Japan, Myanmar, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Japan, South Korea, and Thailand gave more insight on their respective cultures.