Desmond Adair

School of Engineering and Digital Sciences, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Associate Professor

Desmond Adair holds a PhD in Aerodynamics from Imperial College, University of London. He spent a number of years working as a Research Engineer with the Fixed-Wing Division, NASA Ames, Moffett Field California. This was followed with a position as Senior Research Engineer at the National Physical Laboratory in Teddington, England, with secondments to the National Institute of Science and Technology, Washington, DC,  and the Naval Warfare Center White Oak, Silver Spring, Maryland.

He has worked for British Aerospace in the capacity of Senior Research Engineer at Warton, Lancs., in the European Fighter Aircraft programme and also as the Senior Aeroscience Instructor for the Al Yamamah project in Saudi Arabia. Before his present position as Associate Professor in Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering with Nazarbayev University, he was a Senior Lecturer and Research Associate with the University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australia. He now holds the post of Research Fellow with the University of Tasmania.

Dr Adair’s teaching and education management experience is wide ranging. Lately his main teaching areas are Engineering Mathematics, Numerical Methods, Thermodynamics, Propulsion and Flight Mechanics.

His current research interests include: computational fluid dynamics, thermal management systems, aeromechanics, structural vibrations and UAV control theory and manufacture.